Kaavya Sawheny, Suraj Prabodh, Kunal Anand enter finals

October 11, 2018 10:57 PM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
CHANDIGARH: Top seed Suraj Prabodh of Karnataka sailED into men’s singles final of the The Tribune” State Tennis Championship for Men and Women (Rs.3 lakhs prize money) and  CLTA-AITA Championship Series (CS-7) Tennis Tournament for Boys and Gir’s under-16 at the Sector 10 Tennis Stadium here today.

. Suraj Prabodh defeated Jatin Dahiya in 3 setter match. Suraj won the first set 7-6(7), In second set Jatin fought back very well and took the  set 6-2. In the final set Suraj maintained his rhythm and played in a top form to closed the match and set 6-2 without getting much resistance from opponent.

Suraj will play with Kunal Anand men’s singles final tomorrow 10:00 s.m. at Centre Court.  In another men’s singles semifinals Kunal Anand got w/o from V.M. Ranjeet.

 In women’s singles semifinals top seed Sai Samitha defeated Farat Aleen Qamar in straight sets 6-3, 6-1. In the second semifinals second seed Humera Shaik defeated Pratibha Narayan 6-2, 7-6(4).

In women’s doublessemifinals Kaavya Sawhney and Dedeepya Sai upset second seed Anaam Almas and Sharanya Shetty 6-2, 6-2. In the another Semifinals top seed Sai Samitha Chandra and Humera Shaik defeated Arthi Muniyan and Megha Muthukumaran 6-1, 6-1. Top seed Mohit Mayur and Sahil Gaware will play second seed Ishaque Eqbal and Mohammed Fahad in men’s doubles final tomorrow.   

In juniors boys under-16 singles Semifinals top seed Abhay Mohan, CLTA Trainee defeated Shubham Kundu of Karnataka 3-6, 6-4. 6-2. In the another Semifinals Aryan Thakur defeated Amitoj Singh 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-3. In juniors Girls under-16 singles Semifinals top seed Riya Kahushik defeated Amreen Sidhu 7-6(4), 2-6, 7-5. A


Men’s singles (semi-finals): Suraj R. Prabodh (KA) [Q] [1] bt. Jatin Dahiya (DL) 7-6(7), 2-6, 6-2,  Kunal Anand (DL) [6] w/o V.M. Ranjeet (TN) [5].

Women’s singles (semi-finals):  Sai Samhitha (TN) [1] bt. Farat Aleen Qamar (RJ) 6-3, 6-1,   Humera Shaik (TS) [2] bt. Prathiba Narayan (KA) [3] 6-2. 7-6(4).
Men’s doubles (semi-finals):    Mohit Mayur (TN) / Sahil Gaware (TN) [1] bt. Vilasier Khate (HR) / Amarnath Arora (DL) [4] 6-3, 6-3,  Ishaque Eqbal (WB) / Mohammed Fahad (TN) [2] bt. Udayan Bhakar (GJ) / Taha Kapadia (TS) 6-3, 6-3   

Women’s doubles (semi-finals):   Sai Samitha Chandra (TN) / Humera Shaik (TS) [1] bt. Arthi Muniyan (TN) / Megha Muthukumaran (TN) 6-1, 6-1, Dedeepya Sai (TS) / Kaavya Sawhney (UP) bt. Anaam Almas (OD) / Sharanya Shetty (MH) [2] 6-2, 6-2             

 Boy’s under-16 dingles (semi-finals):  Abhay Mohan (CH) [1] bt. Shubham Kundu (KA) 3-6, 6-4, 6-2,    Aryan Thakur (CH) [6] bt. Amitoj Singh (CH) 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-3

Girl’s under-16 singles (s-finals):   Riya Kaushik (CH) [1] bt. Amreen Sidhu (CH) 7-6(4), 2-6, 7-5.

Have something to say? Post your comment

More National News

Opinion Poll