Kenyans hog limelights in OneAmerica Mini Marathon

May 07, 2017 09:21 AM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
INDIANAPOLIS: Depite rain and unseasonal cold in the morning, 21-year-old Kenyan John Murugu and 30-years old Margaret Maina, both of Kenya, ran to glory by emerging champions in the men and women's categories, respectively in the OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini-Marathon here on Saturday.
In face the first four positions in the men's mini marathon (13.5 km) were captured by the Kenyan runners. Kenyan John Murugu, who lives in Grand Prairie, Texas, led the field in the 41st annual event, and covered the distance in 1 hour 4 minutes and 53 seconds in the plus 20,000 field of runners.
Paul Sugut, 30 years old Kenyan of Grand Prairie, TX finished close on the heels of the leader by clocking 1:05:34.45. The third place was claimed by Keynan Festus Chepkowny of Indianapolis and another Keyanan Fredrick Kiprono from Terre Haute, Indiana was home in 1:06:54.04.
Shari Lund (Elmhurst, IL) and Molly Watcke (New Bremen, OH) finished second and third with 1:19:28.48 and 1:19:37.49, respectively.
The runners were flagged off from Downtown. The marathon runners continued around Indianapolis Motor Speedway (halfway mark) and the race culminated at the Military Park.
Besides the mini marathon, competitions were also organised for 5 km and wheelchair races.Besides the mini marathon, competitions were also organised for 5 km and wheelchair races. More than 30,000 competitors turned to take part in the races.
Indian Americans were also spotted in the mini marathon race.

First top ten positions:
Men: 1 John Murugu (Grand Prairie, TX) 1:04:52.98; 2 Paul Sugut (Grand Prairie, TX1:05:34.45; 3 Festus Chepkowny (Indianapolis, IN) 1:06:40.05; 4 Fredrick Kiprono (Terre Haute, IN) 1:06:54.04; 5 Jordan Kyle (Indianapolis, IN) 1:06:54.05; 6 Kenneth Kosgei (Terre Haute, IN) 1:08:17.96; 7 Stephen Clevenger (Decatur, IL) 1:09:37.64; 8 Andy Williams (Wolcottville, IN) 1:10:02.08; 9 Niko Jeftich (Chicago, IL) 1:10:22.28; 10 Kyle Larson (Chicago, IL) 1:10:50.98.
Women: 1 C (Grand Prairie, TX) 1:15:50.04; 2 Shari Lund (Elmhurst, IL1:19:28.48; 3 Molly Watcke (New Bremen, OH) 1:19:37.49; 4 Erin Vergara (Zionsville, IN) 1:20:12.02; 5 Lindsay Cordes (Fort Wayne, IN) 1:20:19.66; 6 Meshelle Rich (Chicago, IL) 1:20:35.64; 7 Audrey Borling (La Grange, IL ) 1:21:06.83; 8 Julie Mercado (Springboro, OH) 1:21:40.18; 9 Lucie Mays- Sulewski (Westfield, IN) 1:22:45.33; 10 Wendy Jaehn (Chicago, IL 1:23:17.12 +7:27.08.

Have something to say? Post your comment