Zakir Hussain College reign supreme in RFYS Nationals

January 07, 2018 11:21 AM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
MUMBAI: Zakir Hussain College of Delhi staged a superb fightback to turn the tables on Baselius College, Kottayam and clinch the college boys’ title in the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports National Football Championship here on Saturday.
In a keenly contested final at the Reliance Corporate Park, Ghansoli, Baselius claimed the first half honours with a Haris Rahman goal in the 34th minute. In the second session, the Delhi boys gained ascendancy and hit back with two goals in the dying minutes of the match to stun the Kerala team.
Midfielder Aditya Bansal scored the equaliser in the 86th minute and six minutes later striker Karmanya Bansal netted the matchwinner.
Baselius' hopes of consolidating upon the lead suffered a dent when their goalscorer Rahman had to be taken after suffering a head injury.
It was sweet revenge for the Zakir Hussain boys as they had lost to Baselius 0-1 in their final group match earlier this week that helped the Kottayam team to top the table.
In other finals, Chandigarh's Minerva Public School won the senior boys and Umthli Secondary School from Shillong claimed the school girls crown respectively.
Minerva's hopes of a double crown were dashed when The Unique Model Academy, Imphal edged out their junior boys team 6-5 in a tie-breaker after both teams were locked 3-3 at regulation time.
All winners got prizes worth Rs 3 lakh each while the runners-up were richer by Rs 1 lakh each.
Junior boys: Minerva Public School 5 (3) (Kartik Nayyar, Arjun Sharma, Dalbir Singh) lost to The Unique Model Academy, Imphal 6 (3) (Lenin Singh, Chingkheingakpa Singh, Rohit Singh) via tie breaker. Golden boot: Arpan Seth (Gangadharpur Vidyamandir, Kolkata); Golden ball: Takhellambam Chingkheingakpa Singh (The Unique Model Academy); Golden Glove: Nazim Ali (Gangadharpur Vidyamandir).
Senior boys: Minerva Public School 4 (Rebanta Metei, Makan Chothe 2, Konan Kouame) bt Rosary Higher Secondary School, Goa 0. Golden boot: Makan Chothe and Konan Kouame (Minerva); Golden ball: Gaurab Das (Kapasdanga Satin Seth Vidyapith, Kolkata); Golden glove: Irshad Mohammad (Minerva).
College boys: Baselius College, Kottayam 1 (Haris Rahman) lost to Zakir Hussain College, Delhi 2 (Aditya Singh Rawat, Karmanya Bansal). Golden boot: Damehun Sih (St Anthony's College, Shillong); GOlden ball: Aditya Singh Rawat (Zakir Hussain College); Golden glove: Akash Mondal (Netaji Nagar Day College, Kolkata).
School girls: PS Senior Secondary School, Chennai 0 lost to Umthli Secondary School, Shillong 4 (Wandashisha Mawrien, Aidaris Kharmalki, Nisilia Majaw 2). Golden boot: Nisilia Majaw; Golden ball: Marbarin Nongrum; Golden glove: Banrisha Wahlang (all Umthli Secondary School).

Have something to say? Post your comment

More Sports News