Nancy emerges fastest runner in MC Sports Meet

March 10, 2018 09:57 PM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
CHANDIGARH: Nancy of B and R Division became the fatest runner by winning 100m dash in the Sports Meet organisied by Sports Club of Chandigarh Municipal Corporation in association with Equitas, Small financing bank here at Sports Complex, Sector 42. The meet under the theme “Mahila ho Sashakt to Desh ho Swasth” was started with the 100 metres run for the women employees of MCC which was flagged off by Mayor Davesh Moudgil and MCC Commissioner Jitender Yadav.
Sumati finished runner-up and SDE (SBM) Kavleen Kaur got third position.
A football match played between Commissioner XI and Chief Engineer XI. Chief Engineer XI prevailed over their opponents by 2-1 after being locked one-one at half time.
During the first half the match was equal with 1-1 goals by each team and after second half the Engineer XI won the match by 2-1.
Commissioner XI was led by Jitender Yadav. Dr. Saurabh Mishra, IAS and Anil Garg, Additional Commissioners, Tejdeep Singh Saini, Joint Commissioner, Sanjeev Kumar, Asstt. PRO, Rakesh Kumar, Law Officer, Jatin Saini, PS to Commissioner, Jagdeep Singh, Section Officer, Mahesh Sharma, Sr. Asstt., Vivek Mehta, Jr. Asstt and Amit Kumar were members of the Commissioner XI . The Mayor also played from the Commissioner XI side for the 1st half.
The Chief Engineer XI was captained by Manoj Bansal, Chief Engineer, N.P. Sharma, SE (B&R), Sanjay Arora, SE (PH), Harish Saini, Executive Engineer (PH), Ajay Garg, Executive Engineer (B&R), Kuldeep Singh, Executive Engineer (Electrical), Amit Sharma, SDE (PH), Anurag Bishnoi, SDE (B&R), Pritpal Singh, SDE (Horticulture), Angrej Singh, SDE (PH) and anjiv Chauhan, SDE (PH) were in the Chief Engineer XI.
Badminton matches were played in the indoor courts of sports complex. In women’s singles Sumati of B and R division lost to Anshu, Sr. Asstt. from 11-5 while Sapna from B and R division won the match from Neha from 11-3. In the women’s doubles Kavleen Kaur, SDE (SBM) and Satwant Kaur won the match from Sapna and Nancy of B and R division. During mix doubles Dr. Saurabh Mishra and Kavleen Kaur won the match from Sanjeev Kumar andSapna by 11-9, 6-11, 11-9.
During the men’s doubles Jitender Yadav and Tejdeep Saini lost the match from Dr. Saurabh Mishra and Anil Garg from 11-7 and 11-6. Sanjeev Kumar and Jagdeep Singh won the match from Jatin Saini and Ajay Garg by 11-5, 11-4. Hardeep Singh, MC Councillor and Ajit Singh won the match from Angrej Singh and Ajay Garg from 11-7 and 11-5. Sanjay Arora and Harish Saini won the match from Manoj Bansal, Chief Engineer and Rakesh Kumar, LO by 11-7 & 11-6.
Earlier, the Mayor said that this is a good initiative and it would be a regular feature to imbibe friendly atmosphere in the Corporation, which would no doubt enhance the efficiency of work. He said that this event was held under the theme of “Mahila ho Sashakt to Desh ho Swachh”.

Have something to say? Post your comment