Kaavya, Simran and Ranjeet qualify for main draw

June 10, 2018 09:35 PM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
CHANDIGARH: CLTA trainee Kaavya Sawney defeated Prabhleen Sekhon in straight sets 6-2, 6-2 in the women's singles final qualifying round of the CLTA-AITA National Ranking Tennis Championships at the Sector 10  Government Tennis Stadium here today.

Displaying her top form  Kaavya dominated throughout the match with her powerful ground stroke. Another CLTA trainee Simran Pritam defeated Alisha Menon in three- setter marathon match 6-3, 2-6, 6-2.

 In the another match Sarah Dev also qualify for the main draw. Sarah defeated Pooja Ingale 6-2, 6-1. Vanshika Choudhary defeated Manali Srivastav without conceding a game 6-0, 6-0. Other players who qualify for main draw are Muskan Gupta, Shamita Yadav, Sonakshi Bhatnagar and Shranya Garware.       

In the men’s singles final qualifying round Ranjeet Singh defeated Gaurav Gulia in straight sets 6-3, 6-0. Ajay Malik defeated Rahul Shankar 6-2, 6-0. Eklavya Singh defated. Yash Yadav in closed contestant 3 setter match. After 1st set down Eklavya came back strongly and took the 2nd and 3rd set 6-2, 6-1. Others player who qualify for main draw are Lakshay Gupta, Yugnak Bhardwaj, Gautam Anand and Bharat Nishok.

The main draw matches will start on  Monday from 8:30 a.m.
Results are as under:
Men’s singles (final qualifying round): Gaurtam Anand bt. Ishaque Eqbal 6-0, 6-0,  Ajay Malik bt. Rahul Shankar 6-2, 6-0,  Aakash Nandwal bt. Anuj Malik 6-1, 7-6(1),  Ranjeet Singh bt. Gaurav Gulia 6-3, 6-0, Bharat Nishok Kumaran bt. Rishabh Dev Raman 7-5, 6-0,  Eklavya Singh bt. Yash Yadav 3-6, 6-2, 6-1, Lakshay Gupta bt. Vipul Mehta 6-2, 6-2, Yugank Bhardwaj bt. Chinmay Bakshi 6-2, 6-2.
Women’s singles (final qualifying round):  Kaavya Sawhney bt. Prabhleen Sekhon 6-2, 6-2,      Muskan Gupta bt. Priyanka Jakhar 6-1, 6-0, Shamita Yadav bt. Gaayatri Shankar 6-2, 6-4,    Vanshika Choudhary bt. Manali Srivastav 6-0, 6-0, Sonakshi Bhatnagar bt. Ashpreet Kaur Bajwa 6-1, 3-6, 6-2, Sarah Dev bt. Pooja Ingale 6-2, 6-1,  Sharanya Gaware bt. Ananya Bhargava 6-0, 6-1,  Simran Pritam bt. Alisha Menon 6-3, 2-6, 6-2.

Have something to say? Post your comment

More Sports News

Opinion Poll