Jitin Kumar Chetry upsets top seed Krishna Hooda

August 09, 2018 09:35 AM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
CHANDIGARH: Unseeded Jitin Kumar Chetry  od Punjab  toppled the top seed Krishna Hoodaan Hooda of CLTA trainee from Haryana  1-6, 7-6(7), 6-3  in the boys under-18 singles semi-finals in the n the CLTA-AITA Championship Series (CS-7) Tennis Tournament  at the Sector 10 Tennis Stadium here today.

CLTA trainee Ajay Singh advanced into semifinals in both boys under-16 and 18 singles. Ajay Singh upset sixth seed Yuvraj Singh Kooka of another CLTA trainee in straight sets 6-3, 6-1

 in boys under-18 singles quarterfinals. Ajay played intelligently with a top form. In Boys under-16 singles quarterfinals Ajay Singh defeated his practice partner Sarthak Gandhi in one sided match 6-1, 6-0. Fourth seed Uddayvir Singh also moved into semifinals in Under-18 singles. Uddayvir defeated Akash Deb 6-1, 7-6(5). Lakshay Gupta  also moved into semifinals in boys under-18 singles. Gurustat Singh Makkar upset seventh seed Jitin Kumar Chetry 6-0, 6-3 in boys under-16 quarterfinals.

Suryanshi Tanwar of CLTA cruised into semifinals in both Girls under-16 & under-18 events. Suryanshi Tanwar upset fourth seed Aditi Singh 6-1, 6-0 in under-16 Girls singles.  Poorvi Bhatt upset 5th seed Radhika Vasudeva in a easy match 6-0, 6-2. Seventh seed Pawandeep Kaur of CHART Punjab defeated Charanya Sreekirishnan of Tamilnadu 6-2, 6-1.

In girls under-18 singles quarterfinals another upset for qualifier Suryanshi Tanwar from sixthseed Sana S Khanna of Maharastra 6-1, 7-6. Another CLTA rrainee second seed Harleen Kaur defeated Japjot Kaur 6-1, (Concede). Poorvi Bhatt and Tanisha Pranjal also moved into semifinals in Girls under-18 singles. Harleen Kaur will play Suryanshi Tanwar in Girls under-18 singles semifinals tomorrow.

The Boys and Girls under-16 & 18 singles Semifinals matches will be played at CLTA Complex, Tennis Stadium, Sector 10, Chandigarh at 09.00 A.M. onwards on Thursday, the 9th August, 2018.

Results  (Singles Quarterfinals):

Boys under-18: Jitin Kumar Chetry (PB) bt. Krishan Hooda (HR) [1] 1-6, 7-6(7), 6-3 ,  Ajay Singh (HR) bt. Yuvraj Singh Kooka (CH) [6] 6-3, 6-1,    Uddayvir Singh (CH) [4] [Q] bt. Akash Deb (AS) 6-1, 7-6(5), Lakshya Gupta (UP) bt. Sukhreet Singh Jhoje (PB) 6-1, 6-1.

Boys under-16: Gurustat Singh Makkar (PB) [Q] bt. Jitin Kumar Chetry (PB) [7] 6-0, 6-3,    Rohan Mittal (HR) [6] bt. Sarabjot Singh (PB) 7-6, 7-5, 3. Smar Bir Singh Sidhu (PB) [Q] bt. Kartik Parhar (PB) [4] 7-6(5), 6-7(9), 7-6(1),   Ajay Singh (HR) [2] bt. Sarthak Gandhi (CH) [Q] 6-1, 6-0.

Girl’s under-16:   Poorvi Bhatt (UP) bt. Radhika Vasudeva (CH) [5] 6-0, 6-2,  Tanisha Pranjal (UP) [Q] bt. Lavanyaa Sreekirishnan (TN) 6-2, 6-2,  Suryanshi Tanwar (HR) [8] bt. Aditi Singh (HR) [4] 6-1, 6-0,    Pawandeep Kaur (PB) [7] bt. Charanya Sreekirishnan (TN) [Q] 6-2, 6-1.

Girls under-18:  Poorvi Bhatt (UP) bt. Mrunal Sagar Kurlekar (MH) [Q] 6-3, 6-4,  Tanisha Pranjal (UP) bt. Alisha Menon (PB) 6-3, 6-4,  Suryanshi Tanwar (HR) [Q] bt. Sana S Khanna (MH) [6] 6-1, 7-6(4), Harleen Kaur (PB) [2] bt. Japjot Kaur (CH) 6-1, Concede.

Have something to say? Post your comment