25 eligible for USA Cricket Board of Directors election

May 28, 2018 09:03 PM

Punjab News Express/Balbir Singh
INDIANAPOLIS: The USA Cricket Nominating and Governance Committee (NGC)  has announced the 25 candidates that have been vetted and are eligible to stand for election for the seven constituent seats available in the inaugural USA Cricket Board of Directors' election, according to  USA Project Manager Eric J Parthen.

Through a diverse Board of Directors, that will be elected by June 2018 and have representation from most cricket stakeholder groups, USA Cricket will lead the sport to new heights by creating and administering value added programs to grow and develop the sport at all levels.

Ten candidates, including Indianapolis based Jatin Patel, have staked claimed for the three seats of Individual Directors.

Eight persons, including Ajith Bhaskar, Maq Qureshi and Biju Nair, are contesting for the one seat of Club Director. Mark Demos, Shuja Khan, Lesley Lowe, Sushil Nadkarni and Atul Rai are in the fray for the lone seat of League Director,

The contest for the seat of Female Player Director is between Nadia T. Gruny and Erica Rendler while Usman Shuja is the lone candidate for the seat of Male Player Director

The NGC, comprising Keith Aaron, Rohan Chandran, Amy Perko, and David Richardson, vetted the candidates against the requirements in USA Cricket’s Constitution including, citizenship or permanent resident status, completion of a 3rd party background check, holding USA Cricket membership, potential real and perceived material conflicts and self-certification of other Constitutional requirements outlined in Section 7.3.

With respect to potential conflicts, all respective candidates agreed to step down from other roles where necessary if elected to the USA Cricket Board. 

 The candidates eligible to stand for election, including the number of seats available, is as follows:

Individual Directors (3 seats): Avinash Gaje, Ramesh Immadi, Ajay Jhamb, Kiran Manchikanti, Ramu Parupalli, Jatin Patel, Venu Pisike, Shantha Suraweera, Suraj Viswanathan, Brian Walters.

Club Director (1 seat): John L. Aaron, Ajith Bhaskar, Biju Nair, Jag (Uday) Poosarla, Maq Qureshi, Aziz Savul, Masaood Yunus.

League Director (1 seat): Mark Demos, Shuja Khan, Lesley Lowe, Sushil Nadkarni and Atul Rai.

Female Player Director (1 seat): Nadia T. Gruny and Erica Rendler.

 Male Player Director (1 seat): Usman Shuja.

Have something to say? Post your comment