Capt Amarinder, all other 76 Punjab Cong MLAs cast vote in presidential poll

July 17, 2017 05:51 PM

Punjab News Express
CHANDIGARH: All the Punjab 77 Congress MLAs, including Chief Minister & CLP leader Captain Amarinder Singh, cast their vote in the presidential elections at the Vidhan Sabha here on Monday.

They had cast their votes by 12:15 pm., a party spokesperson said, adding that MLA from Sultanpur Lodhi Mr. Navtej Cheema, also the party’s polling agent, was the first amongst the Congress MLAs to cast his vote.

Subsequently, Speaker Punjab Vidhan Sabha Rana KP Singh and Local Government Minister Mr. Navjot Sidhu accompanied by MLA Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa, Bharat Bhushan Ashu and Pargat Singh exercised their franchise.

The Chief Minister, accompanied by Health and Family Welfare Minister Mr. Brham Mohindra, also cast his vote. The voting by the Congress MLAs ended with Kushal Deep Singh Dhillon
exercising his franchise.

AICC appointed observer, former Union Minister RPN Singh, was also present on the occasion to ensure free, fair and transparent polling for the election in which the main contest was between Opposition candidate Meira Kumar and Ram Nath Kovind of NDA for the post of the 14th President of India.

Captain Amarinder earlier chaired a meeting of the party MLAs, also attended by RPN Singh, before the MLAs went to participate in the polling.

Have something to say? Post your comment