20 Record(s) found, Page : 1 of 2
Karnataka set for stormy budget session in Bengaluru

BENGALURU: Foiling an alleged opposition BJP's bid to topple it recently, the ruling JD-S-Congress government in Karnataka is bracing up for a 10-day stormy budget session of the state legislature here from Wednesday.

Opposition fears Modi, so ganging up: Jaitley

NEW DELHI:  Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on Monday hit out at opposition parties, saying the fear of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's popularity and his return to power has brought them together but said this won't work in the Lok Sabha polls as Modi remains the most popular leader.

2019 polls: ‘Mission 123’ to win seats lost five years ago a challenge for BJP

NEW DELHI: Earlier this week, Hindustan Times reported that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had revived its ‘Mission 123’, aimed at “winning as many as possible the 123 seats that the BJP contested but did not win in the Modi wave that took it to an unprecedented 282 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections”.

Blow to BJP ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls

NEW DELHI: The results in the Hindi heartland states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan came as a major shock for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has won all the major states barring Delhi, Bihar, Punjab and Karnataka in elections held after the sweeping 2014 Lok Sabha victory.

Actress Priya Varrier most searched personality on Google in 2018

NEW DELHI:  Malayalam actress Priya Prakash Varrier, who shot to fame following her 'wink song' 'Manikya Malaraya Poovi...' from the film 'Oru Addar Love' has become the most searched personality of the year, Google India said on Wednesday.

Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram to vote on Wednesday

BHOPAL: Madhya Pradesh will vote on Wednesday to either give the BJP a fourth successive term in power notwithstanding anti-incumbency or give a chance to the challenger Congress to break the saffron party's monopoly over power for the last 15 years.

Why Ajit Jogi is the X factor in Chhattisgarh elections?

NEW DELHI: Among the four major states — Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Telangana— where polls are underway, the Congress should have had the best chance in Chhattisgarh. It lost the state by the smallest margin in 2013, both in terms of seat share and vote share.

Congress-JD-S trounces BJP 4-1 in Karnataka bypolls

BEGALURU: In a Diwali gift ahead of 2019 general elections, the JD-S-Congress coalition on Tuesday worsted BJP 4-1 in the bye elections in Karnataka winning two Lok Sabha and two Assembly constituencies, while conceding the Shimoga parliamentary seat to the saffron party.

JD-S-Congress set for 4-1 victory over BJP in Karnataka bypolls

BENGALURU: The ruling JD-S-Congress coalition in Karnataka was well on its way to trouncing the BJP in the Lok Sabha and Assembly bye elections on Tuesday, leading in two parliamentary and winning in two assembly seats including the Ramnagara seat where Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy's wife Anitha won on the JD-S ticket by a huge margin of 1,09,137 votes.

Vote count begins in 5 Karnataka bypolls

BENGALURU: Counting of votes began on Tuesday in five bye-elections held on November 3 to fill the vacancies caused in three Lok Sabha and two assembly segments in Karnataka, a poll official said.

Voting underway for Karnataka by-polls

BENGALURU: Voting was underway on Saturday for the by-election to three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats in Karnataka, an Election Commission official said.

Karnataka readies for 5 by-elections on Saturday

BENGALURU: A total of 54.5 lakh electorate, including 27.2 lakh men and 27.3 lakh women, will vote in 6,543 polling booths across 3 Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies of Karnataka, by-elections for which will take place tomorrow, a poll official said on Friday.

For Congress, a departure from the ‘big brother’ approach

NEW DELHI: Former finance minister P Chidambaram’s remarks that the Congress has not declared Rahul Gandhi as its prime ministerial candidate for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections is in tune with the party’s stand.

In Karnataka’s battle royale, sons of 3 former CMs fight for one seat

BENGALURU: Karnataka recently witnessed an unusual sight. After twelve long years, former prime minister Deve Gowda and his one-time protégé turned bête noire former chief minister Siddaramaiah came together on a single platform to appeal for unity among the workers of the coalition parties Janata Dal (Secular) and Congress.

IUML Kerala legislator Abdul Razack dead

KERALA: P.B. Abdul Razack, a senior IUML legislator from Kerala, died at a private hospital here Saturday, party sources said. He was 63.

Will decide on alliance with BJP once dates are known: Palaniswami

NEW DELHI: After meeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K. Palaniswami on Monday said a decision on an alliance between the ruling AIADMK and BJP for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls will be taken after elections are announced.

Rahul tears into Modi, hopes of a BSP-Congress truck

NEW DELHI: Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Friday tore into the Narendra Modi government for "waging war on Indians" and imposing a "suffocating ideology" on them. Exuding confidence of trucking with Mayawati-led BSP for the next Lok Sabha polls, he also expressed his willingness to become the Prime Minister.

WhatsApp rolls out second phase of radio ad campaign in India

NEW DELHI: After being pulled up by the government to take concrete steps to stop the spread of misinformation and fake news on its platform, Facebook-owned WhatsApp on Wednesday said it has launched the second phase of its radio ad campaign in the country to create awareness and empower users.

Congress wins majority in Karnataka civic polls

BENGALURU: Karnataka's ruling coalition partner the Congress won majority of the seats across 10 of 22 districts during vote count for 105 Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) on Monday, the State Election Commission (SEC) said.

BJP blames JDS-Cong for defeat in Karnataka civic polls

BENGALURU: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday blamed Karnataka's ruling coalition partners Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) for its defeat in the state civic polls held across 22 districts.


Opinion Poll