Election 2017

Stage set for Gurdaspur bye-election on Wednesday, Congress, AAP and BJP in race

October 10, 2017 11:24 PM
Candiatges in fray in Gurdaspur. Photo Courtesy:The Hindistan Times

Punjab News Express
CHANDIGARH: The stage is set for the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bye-election, the polling for which will be held on October 11, Wednesday. The bye election was necessiated after the sudden death of MP and film star Vinod Khanna who won this seat four times in a row on BJP ticket.

The contest here seems triangular between Congress party, Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) and SAD-BJP alliance. Winning this seat is prestigious for all the three parties for their own survival. The Congress party has won the last assembly elections with the hidden support of SAD-BJP alliance but this time they both are confronting each other. They had joined hands to defeat AAP and succeeded too but the situation is entirely different this time. AAP is fighting tooth and nail on the basis of real issues where as the Congress has diverted the election campaign from public issues to sleaze and only beneficiery of sex video leaked on social media.The only adverse point agaisnt Congress is its candidate Sunil Jakhar who is an outsider for the constituency.

The performance of Congress party has remained dismal during the first six months of governance. Congress party came to power on three key promises to waive off farmer loans, providing jobs to every houseold and improving law and order problem besides distributing free mobiles to 60 lakh youth who registrered on the official website of Congress party. The common people of Punjab who were fed up with ten eyars rule of SAD-BJP alliance had pinned hopes on Congress party. Unfortunately Congress has not got much time to fulfill these promises before facing an electoral battle.

Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in Punjab
Assembly segments: Dera Baba Nanak, Dina Nagar, Bhoa, Batala, Gurdaspur, Qadian, Sujanpur, Pathankot, Fatehgarh Churian
Male electors: 784,477
Female electors: 715,860
Total electors: 1,500,337

The SAD-BJP alliance had already lost its credibility in the assembly elections and fighting Gurdaspur election became a compulsion for the alliance. The alliance faced major embarassement due to rape case registered against senior SAD leader Sucha Singh Langah who was also election incharge for Gurdeaspur bye-poll. The sex video of Langah leaked on social media further damaged image of alliance. The opposition parties also raked up the issue of a rape case registered against BJP candidate Swaran Salaria in Mumbai. The SAD-BJP seems fighting lost battle in Gurdaspur.

The AAP has decided to contest the Gurdaspur poll despite the fact that they have little base in Majha area. AAP has reached out to voters silentely and went door to door. The AAP may not win the seat but this opportunity will help them to strengthen its base in Majha area. The AAP has strong point that its candidate Maj General Suresh Kumar Khajuria is local resident and had served in armed forces for over two decades.

Unfortunately the Gurdaspur election is not being contested on burning issues like farm laon waiver, farmer suicides, deteriorating law and order situation, drug menace, poor health and edication infrastructure, declining economic condition and unemployment. The Langah issue has overshadowed the whole election campaign.

Have something to say? Post your comment