Campus Buzz

Army Institute of Law Mohali lift moot court trophy

April 01, 2018 04:07 PM

Punjab News Express
ROPAR: The team of Army Institute of Law, Mohali, was declared winner in the 8th RCL National Moot Court Competition at Rayat College of Law which concluded today. A total of 36 teams including participants from the National Law schools from across the country took part in the competition.  

The team of the Army Institute of Law, Mohali, also bagged a cash prize of Rs 5000, while the team of Symbiosis Law College, Pune, came in a close second and were awarded a cash prize of Rs 3500. The Best Mooter prize was awarded to Gunjan Thakur from AIL, Mohali, who also got Rs 2500 as cash prize. Best Memorial trophy went to the team from Baba Farid Law College, Punjab, with a cash prize of Rs 2500 and Best Researcher went to Komal of Rayat College of Law and she received a cash prize of Rs 1500.

The two-day event began with two laborious and grueling sessions with persistent questioning and detailed analysis of law. The session was presided over by the expert panel of 16 experienced advocates from Punjab and Haryana High Court. The mega event began with the preliminary and quarter-final round in these two strenuous rounds and the top four teams moved on to the semi-final and final rounds which took place on the concluding day of the event.

The final round was presided over by the Justice Rakesh Garg, Chairman of the NRI Commission of Punjab. The competition was sponsored by Legal Desire and Manupatra and co-sponsored by Bulls Eye, BBI and Horizon. A panel of expert advocates who presided lauded the work of organizing committee and the performance of the participants. They also shared their court room experiences with the students.

Dr Suresh Seth, Campus Director of RBGI Ropar Campus lauded the Chief Guest for his contribution to the society and expressed gratitude towards the participating teams. He also highlighted the achievements of the Group.

Justice Rakesh Garg, Chairman of the NRI Commission, Punjab, who presided over the valedictory ceremony, congratulated the staff and management of the Rayat-Bahra for organizing such a national level event and lauded the multidimensional and phenomenal growth of Rayat-Bahra Group in a span of just about a decade and a half.

The competition was inaugurated by Justice Avneesh Jhingan, sitting Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court and he was welcomed by Gurvinder Singh Bahra, Chairman of the Rayat and Bahra Group.

Principal Dr Monika Sharma proposed a vote of thanks.

Have something to say? Post your comment