Campus Buzz

Lyallpur Khalsa College Dominates University Cultural Championship once again

November 04, 2017 02:32 PM

Pujab News Express/SK.Vyas
JALANDHAR: Continuing its excellent performance, Lyallpur Khalsa College Jalandhar has bagged the First Runners-up position in Inter-Zonal Youth Festival of Guru Nanak Dev University Amritsar for the year 2017. The trophy was awarded to the College Principal Dr. G.S. Samra at Amritsar who along with college ECA Dean Dr. Rashpal Sandhu, senior teachers and the ecstatic ECA team received it.

On the concluding day the college won positions in Classical Dance and Western Vocal Solo, thus amounting to a total of 8 first, 9 second and 5 third positions, forming a total score of 92 points.  The college in all participated in 22 events and it won positions in all the events.

The college won First positions in Bhangra, Group Shabad, Vaar Singing, Collage, Clay Modeling, Folk Song, Rangoli, Folk Orchestra second positions in Group Song, Elocution, Mime, Geet/Gazal, Poetical Symposium, Classical Inst. (Percussion), Classical Inst. (Non-Percussion), Group Dance, Western Group Song and third positions in Skit, Classical Vocal, One Act Play, Classical Dance, Western Vocal Solo.

Speaking to the press, the College Principal Dr. Samra said the college was already holding University Overall Sports championship and this latest achievement was a reflection of its excellence in all the arenas. He attributed the achievements to the efforts of the ECA team of the College.  Dr. G.S. Samra also added that Dr. Rashpal Singh Sandhu, Dean, Cultural Affairs oversaw the entire practice for the event and he was tirelessly assisted by Prof. Harpreet Kaur and Prof. Palwinder Singh.

Valuable services in the preparations were also rendered by Prof. Ahuja Sandeep, Prof. Navjot Kaur, Prof. Mandeep Singh Bhatia, Prof. Sukhdev Singh, Prof. Pavittar Pal, Prof. Daljit Singh, Prof. Mansi Chopra, Prof. Kritika Khanna, Prof. Gurpriya Wraich, Prof. Jasneet Kaur, Prof. Surinderpal Mand, Prof. Harjinder Singh, Prof. Sukhdev Singh Nagra and other faculty members associated with various activities which led to this latest accolade for the college. The president College Governing Council Sardarni Balbir Kaur congratulated the College staff and

Have something to say? Post your comment