Campus Buzz

Cultural fiesta marks annual day of Rayat Bahra

March 20, 2017 01:39 PM

Punjab News Express
MOHALI : A colourful cultural bonanza marked the celebrations of 6th annual cum farewell day “Kahkashan-2017’ at the Rayat Bahra University School of Pharmaceutical Sciences today.
Gurvinder Singh Bahra, Chairman of the Rayat Bahra Group of Institutions (RBGI), who was the Chief Guest, shared his vision for the university to increase competitiveness, responsiveness and professionalism. He congratulated the outgoing students by giving away prizes for merit positions, achievers in curricular and extracurricular events organized by the school during the year 2016-17.The fifth consecutive issue of College Magazine “Pharma Daze” was released on this occasion.
Prof Raj Singh, Vice-Chancellor, Rayat Bahra University, congratulating the students counselled them to imbibe conception and convert it into action. He also shared the importance of overall student development in professional and technical areas while praising the efforts of the School in this area.
Prof SL Harikumar, Dean, USPS, welcomed the guests, teachers and students and listed the initiatives taken by the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences by way of conferences, seminars, expert lectures, industrial and skill development training, industry visits and highlighted the Institute's dramatic growth and accomplishments over the past one year.
The Alumni Meet was organized during annual day celebrations. A variety of cultural programmes were staged by the students in the annual day programme. The event had various fun activities and competitions like dance competition, singing competition and fashion show. A skit with a social message drew appaluse. Bhangra and western dances presented by B Pharm students were a major hit.
Certificates of Achievement were awarded to the students with first and second highest overall aggregate marks, in all subjects intakes for the year. Diksha (B Pharm 1styear), Sarthak Sharma (B. Pharm 2nd year), Jagpreet Kaur (B. Pharm 3rd year), and Jyoti (B. Pharm final year), Monisha Bansal (M Pharm 1st year) and Tanya Mittal (M. Pharm 2nd year) were awarded as meritorious students of the institute. Rishabh (B.Pharm) and Nitin (M.Pharm) and Manpreet (B.Pharm) and Kazal Sharma (M. Pharm) were adjuged Mr Best Outgoing and Ms Best Outgoing student of the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Have something to say? Post your comment